News & Events

Current Utility News
Current News


Click above to watch a replay of the debate anytime or to submit comments.

Three New Commissioners and a New Chairman
Three New Commissioners and a New Chairman


On January 5th the three newly elected Corporation Commissioners, Sandra Kennedy, Paul Newman and Bob Stump, were sworn into office, joining incumbents Gary Pierce and Kris Mayes on the five member panel.  With Democrats Kennedy and Newman joining the three Republican Commissioners, it marks the first time in over a decade that the ACC is comprised of members from both major political parties. The following day in a unanimous vote, the Commissioners elected Kris Mayes to serve as Chair of the ACC.

In her acceptance speech, Commissioner Mayes outlined several goals she hoped to achieve during her tenure as chairman.  At the top of her list was pushing the envelope on developing renewable energy sources in the State and continuing with efforts to make Arizona the solar energy capital of the country.  She also indicated her desire to press for energy savings through efficiency and conservation and to promote consolidation and conservation among privately-owned water companies under regulation by the ACC. 

Chairman Mayes further stated that she was interested in better utilization of ACC staff and administrative resources and vowed to set the ACC on the path toward a “paperless” office by enabling electronic filings.  This would also reduce costs of the companies required to make submissions to the ACC.

AIC congratulates newly-seated Commissioners Kennedy, Newman and Stump and Commissioner Mayes election as Chair.  We look forward to working with the new Commission as it tackles the myriad issues confronting Arizona’s future.  AIC believes the path to achieving the goals set forth by Chairman Mayes and her colleagues necessitates that our regulated utility companies be financially strong so they can attract and secure capital at the best possible terms. 

Gary Yaquinto, AIC President